Modelling AWS Cloudformation `Ref` function

AWS Cloudformation is a configuration language which allows users to specify and deploy resources on AWS.

The number of available resources and the number of configuration options for each is staggering.

Since the configuration is in JSON or YAML it suffers from the usual issues around discoverability and type safety (there are lots of options which require specific strings and lots of situations where attributes should be provided together i.e. we can use types to make configuration errors impossible).

Amazon themselves have recognized that simply getting started with Cloudformation is an intimidating prospect and have created SAM which includes a macro to simplify the specification of resources and their implicit dependencies. Macros too are specified in JSON.

In short, Cloudformation seems like a clear use case for Dhall!

Since I’m new to Dhall I first wanted to ask: has anyone worked on this already? Googling brought up this blog but the author noted some problems they ran into and doesn’t appear to have moved forward with Dhall.

If there is not an existing implementation, I would also like some guidance on how to model the aspects of the language, particularly those which represent implicit computations / sequencing.

Declared resources may depend on the identity of other resources using the Ref function. This allows the Cloudformation execution service to determine the dependency graph of resources, sequence the creation of resources and substitute the returned values into subsequent resource definitions.

How would I go about representing this in Dhall? Specifically, is there a way to do this which has a degree of type safety?

Thanks,

Michael

2 Likes

@enetsee: You will probably want to do something similar to what dhall-kubernetes does and auto-generate Dhall types from a CloudFormation Resources specification. I’m not aware of any project that has done this, yet.