Pointers to profiling tools for dhall-haskell?

(Ari Becker) #1

Context: https://github.com/dhall-lang/dhall-kubernetes/issues/54#issuecomment-476202026

As Dhall has become more and more central to my workflow, it’s become a bit of a gateway drug for Haskell, as I want to get to a point where I can become an active contributor. I’m currently on chapter 5 of the Haskell book, but it’ll take me a while to get through it.

In the time being, I have some expressions that are taking an ungodly amount of time to parse (more than ten minutes just to get to a type error), but they’re expressions that I unfortunately cannot publicly share just yet. So I want to be able to start to profile them, maybe get a sense of whether or not there’s any low-hanging fruit, maybe even submit a PR.

As I’m new to the Haskell world - can somebody point me in the direction of tools that could help with profiling? Anything else that could be helpful to somebody going in this direction?

Much appreciated

Edit: final parsing time came down to almost 40 minutes (2018 mac book pro)… ouch :face_with_thermometer:

(Gabriel Gonzalez) #2

The first step is obtaining the default profiling output (i.e. a .prof file). If you are using cabal then I believe you only run these commands within the dhall Haskell project to build a dhall executable that supports profiling:

$ cabal configure --enable-profiling
$ cabal build
$ time cabal run dhall -- +RTS -p <<< './example.dhall'

That will generate a dhall.prof file within your current working directory.

That file is a text file that by itself produces some useful profiling output, but in my experience it is structured in a way that is easy to misinterpret, so I prefer to use a derived tool called profiteur whose input is a .prof file and whose output is a graphical user interface for exploring the time and space costs in a visual tree-based way:

If you install the profiteur tool then you use it by running:

$ profiteur dhall.prof